Mark McAndrews, Port of Pascagoula director, was elected as board chairman to the American Association of Port Authorities, an organization representing 130 of the leading seaport authorities in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Latin America. McAndrews earned his bachelor's degree in marine transportation from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, and his maritime career spans more than 35 years with experience in stevedoring, maritime terminals, marine operations and public port administration.

Stuart Weidie, president and CEO of Blossman Gas headquartered in Ocean Springs, was named chairman of the National Propane Gas Association. Weidie began his career with Blossman Gas as a branch manager in 1991 and became a third-generation president in 2000.

Hancock County Port and Harbor Commission announced new leadership: Bill Cotter is the new chief operations officer of the Hancock County Port and Harbor Commission; Kevin Carlisle is the new airport director for Stennis International Airport; and Keith Bowman was promoted to director of Port Bienville Industrial Park.

Jeremy McLeod of the Moss Point Fire Department graduated from the National Fire Protection Association 1001 Firefighter I-II course at the Mississippi State Fire Academy in Jackson. The seven-week course included classroom and hands-on instruction in fire behavior, fire suppression, rescue and other fire-related topics.