South Mississippi personnel for Jan. 21

Alan Dedeaux
Alan Dedeaux

Sara Chatham has been promoted to director of spa, salon and pool operations at Beau Rivage Resorts & Casino in Biloxi. She is a long-time employee of the Beau Rivage and worked as a licensed cosmetologist in the salon. Prior to joining MGM Resorts International, she worked at Battle House Hotel and Renaissance Riverview Plaza in Mobile and at JW Marriott in New Orleans. She has a bachelor’s degree in hospitality management from University of Southern Mississippi.

Alan Dedeaux of Kiln was elected chairman of Pearl River Community College Board of Trustees. He has served on the board since 2008. Dedeaux is superintendent of education at Hancock County School District. He began his education career in 1983 as a teacher and coach in Harrison County School District and also served as a teacher, coach and administrator in Picayune and Hancock County school districts. He has a bachelor’s degree in education from Mississippi College and a master’s degree from William Carey University. He is replaced on the board by Pearl River County Assistant Superintendent Missy Holston, a PRCC alumnus.

Stone Garlich of Pascagoula completed a semester-long internship at the office of U.S. Senator Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) in Washington, D.C. Garlich is a senior risk management and insurance major at University of Mississippi.

Bryan Matthews has been appointed director of the VA Gulf Coast Veterans Health Care System effective Jan. 21 and will oversee delivery of health care to more than 56,000 veterans. He has 30 years of experience in health care management and most recently served as medical center director at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where he achieved a five-star VA SAIL rating for overall facility performance. He is a graduate of University of Maryland and received an MBA in Healthcare Management from University of Phoenix. He served 22 years in the U.S. Air Force.

IP Casino Resort recognized outstanding employees of the month. October’s honorees are: Lyn Blocker, food and beverage; Tanya Schoniwitz, housekeeping; Raquael Shidler, retail; Karen Gillis, receiving; Kevin McIntosh, facilities, and Thora Owens, hotel. November’s honorees are: Mary Montgomery, security; Angela Nelson, environmental services; Chin Tran, table games; Doris Blaylock, hotel; Norma Crespo, food and beverage, and Buddy West, facilities.

Rita Seward of Jackson County was appointed by U. S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue to serve on the Mississippi USDA Farm Service Agency state committee. The committee is responsible for the oversight of farm programs and county committee operations, resolving appeals from the agriculture community and helping to keep producers informed about FSA programs.

D’Iberville native Chris Crothers, senior program officer for the Jessie Ball duPont Fund, is one of 24 people chosen as a member of the Council on Foundation’s 2018 leadership development program, Career Pathways. Crothers, who now lives in Slidell, joined the Jessie Ball duPont Fund in 2013. He previously was served as director of communications at the foundation for the Mid-South in Jackson. He has a bachelor’s degree from Mississippi State University.