Keeping Score

MSU's Dak Prescott left out of Heisman finalists

The three finalists for the Heisman Trophy have been announced, and Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott is not among them.

Alabama receiver Amari Cooper, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon will be in New York City for the trophy presentation on Dec. 13.

Mariota is likely the heavy favorite to win the trophy. The Oregon quarterback has thrown for 3,783 yards, 38 touchdowns and two interceptions in leading his team to the College Football Playoff.

Cooper has been outstanding as a junior for the Crimson Tide. He has 115 catches for 1,656 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Gordon rushed 309 times for 2,336 yards and 26 touchdowns this season.

Prescott falls short of inclusion in the ceremony despite leading Mississippi State to a 10-2 record and a spot in the Orange Bowl. He has thrown for 2,996 yards for 24 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. He also rushed 195 times for 939 yards and 13 touchdowns.