Keeping Score

Jackson St. leads state in HOF members; MSU, Alcorn still looking for 1st

With Ray Guy becoming the first Southern Miss product to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame, it's time to take stock of how Mississippi programs have done so far when it comes to producing members of the Hall.

Here are the current Hall of Fame members from Mississippi schools:

School: Name (position, primary NFL team).

Alcorn State: none.

Jackson State: Lem Barney (CB, Detroit Lions) Walter Payton (RB, Chicago Bears), Jackie Slater (OT, Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams).

Mississippi State: none.

Mississippi Valley State: Jerry Rice (WR, San Francisco 49ers), *Deacon Jones (DE, Los Angeles Rams). 

Ole Miss: Gene Hickerson (OL, Cleveland Browns), Bruiser Kinard (OL, Brooklyn Dodgers/Tigers).

Southern Miss: Ray Guy (P, Oakland Raiders).

* Jones started his college career at South Carolina State before playing his final season at Mississippi Vocational, which became Mississippi Valley State in 1974.

Other Mississippians in the Hall include:

Oakland Raiders cornerback Willie Brown is from Yazoo City and played at Grambling State.

Brookhaven's Lance Alworth played at Arkansas and became a legendary receiver with the San Diego Chargers.

Offensive lineman Billy Shaw is from Vicksburg and he played for the Buffalo Bills. He played college football at Georgia Tech.

Several other Mississippi college products will receive consideration in the future:

Green Bay Packers legend Brett Favre, who was a Southern Miss standout at quarterback, is sure to be voted into the Hall when he becomes eligible in 2016. 

Ole Miss product Patrick Willis, one of the best linebackers in the NFL with the San Francisco 49ers, is also likely to garner consideration as a Hall of Famer if he stays healthy and closes out his career strong.

Eli Manning, another Ole Miss legend, has two Super Bowl rings with the New York Giants and will receive support as a potential Hall member. He needs to have some strong seasons to make up for some mediocre campaigns. 

Former Buffalo Bills center Kent Hull is currently the lone potential future member of the Hall from Mississippi State at the moment. His candidacy has gained little traction to this point with his career being overshadowed by other Bills greats like Jim Kelly, Thurman Thomas, Andre Reed and Bruce Smith. He has only been listed on the preliminary list of nominees so far.

Alcorn State's Steve McNair has received some buzz as a potential Hall of Fame member, but his candidacy is uncertain. The former Tennessee Titans quarterback is certainly worthy of consideration.