New Mississippi rule affects transportation of big game harvested in other states

White tailed deer are affected by Chronic Wasting Disease
White tailed deer are affected by Chronic Wasting Disease Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks.

A new Mississippi rule affects hunters who travel out of state to for big game.

The Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks passed in May Rule 2.7, which it calls Prohibition on Cervid Carcass Importation. The MDWFP said in a Sept. 1 press release the rule was approved to protect the state from chronic wasting disease.

CWD is a fatal neurological disease that affects cervids and has been found in 24 states and three foreign countries. A cervid is a member of the deer family. Its group includes white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, moose, caribou, red deer, sika deer and fallow deer.

Here’s the ruling:

It is unlawful to import, transport, or possess any portion of a cervid carcass originating from any state, territory or foreign country where the occurrence of CWD has been confirmed by the state wildlife agency, state agriculture agency, state veterinarian, United States Department of Agriculture, Animal Plant Health Inspection Service or the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

This rule shall not apply to the importation of:

▪ Meat from cervids that has been completely deboned.

▪ Antlers attached to cleaned skull plates or cleaned skulls where no tissue is attached to the skull.

▪ Cleaned teeth.

▪ Finished taxidermy and antler products.

▪ Hides and tanned products.

▪ Any portions of white-tailed deer originating from the land between the Mississippi River levees in Arkansas.

As of Aug. 31, CWD hasn’t been found in Mississippi.

CWD has been confirmed in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

CWD has also been found in Norway, South Korea and the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

James Jones: 228-896-2320, @_jkjones