Elite Redfish series tournament returns to South Mississippi

Weigh master Mark Wright weighs a red fish during the 69th annual Mississippi Deep Sea Fishing Rodeo on Sunday
Weigh master Mark Wright weighs a red fish during the 69th annual Mississippi Deep Sea Fishing Rodeo on Sunday amccoy@sunherald.com

For the second straight year, D'Iberville is hosting an Elite Redfish Tournament Series Fishing Tournament.

The Tournament, called Mississippi Madness, will be held July 27 to July 29 at the Scarlet Pearl Casino in D'Iberville. It's the final event of the Yamaha Outboards Eastern Division's Elite Redfish series.

Registration and check-in will be 5:30 p.m. Wednesday at the Scarlet Pearl Casino, followed with the Captain's dinner between 6 p.m. and 7 p.m. After dinner, a Captain's meeting takes place at 7 p.m.

The Elite anglers will compete July 27 through July 29, starting at 6 a.m. At ramp under the Interstate 110 bridge near the Scarlet Casino. The weigh-in is 3 p.m. For all three days at the designated parking lot between Diaz Street and RaceTrack Road. The public can attend the weigh-ins free.

“It’s a really nice professionally run event with the best professional anglers in the sport from South Carolina, Louisiana, Texas, Florida, Mississippi, Alabama and North Carolina,” said Bay St. Louis resident Bo Favre, who’ll compete in the event.

The Yahama Outboards' points champion will win a new Skeeter Boats SX2250. The Mississippi Madness winner could also win a boat/motor/trailer package worth $65,000.

This year, the Elite Redfish split its tournament into two divisions. D'Ibeville's in the East Division with Harvey and Hopedale, two Louisiana events. The Western Division consists of tournaments in Port Aransas, Kemah and Port Arthur, all Texas events.

Last year, Barnie White edged Chad Billiot in the Yellowfin Elite Redfish Series at the Scarlet Pearl Casino. White's catch of 77.80 pounds edged Billiot's catch of 75.22 pounds. White earned a $6,000 payday, Billiot earned $3,250. Weir was third at 72.73 and earned $2,200. Paul Dufrene was fourth at 72.73 and received $1,050. Bo Favre was fifth at 70.39 and received $500.

White and Weir qualified for this year’s Elite Series Tournament. Billiot, Dufrene, Favre, Travis Land, Erik Rue, Nicky Savoie, Shane Pescay, Josh Gregory, Mike Frenette and Scott Ayers also qualified for the fast pass to this year’s Elite Series Classic.

James Jones: 228-896-2320, @_jkjones