High School Sports

Heavy on Hornets: East Central football racks up honors on All-Region 8-4A Team

East Central's Tony Brown (4) is chased by Noxubee County's Keymarcus Jackson (2) during the Class 4A state title game in Oxford on Dec. 2.
East Central's Tony Brown (4) is chased by Noxubee County's Keymarcus Jackson (2) during the Class 4A state title game in Oxford on Dec. 2. Associated Press

The East Central football team was rewarded for its Class 4A South State title run by the region's coaches this week.

The Hornets swept individual honors for the Region 8-4A All-District Team. Senior running back Tony Brown was named the region's Offensive MVP, senior safety Andrew Seward was selected as Defensive MVP and Hornets head coach Seth Smith was named Coach of the Year.

Smith led East Central to a 13-1 record in his fifth season on the job, taking the program on the deepest postseason run in program history.

Brown ran 253 times for 2,687 yards and 47 touchdowns to lead the East Central offense, putting up 50 touchdowns total.

Senior safety Andrew Seward finished with 190 tackles and five interceptions.

Nine other East Central players were named First-Team All-District, including senior quarterback Riley Brown, senior fullback Louis Morgan, senior tight end Brad Cumbest, senior wing back Cameron Gray, senior offensive lineman Wyatt Green, sophomore defensive lineman Trace Higginbotham, junior linebacker Avery White, junior cornerback Trenton Baldock and junior kicker Branson Davis.

Pass Christian (5-6) finished as the No. 2 seed in the region and picked up nine first-team honorees: Junior running back Tionne Frost, sophomore receiver Andrew Moffett, sophomore athlete Gage Scruggs, senior offensive lineman Travon Frost, senior defensive lineman Nate Weatherly, junior defensive lineman Tyree Johnson, senior linebacker Nate Stewart and junior defensive back Josh Tinson.

St. Stanislaus (6-6) earned seven first-team selections: Senior running back, Andrew Trapani, senior running back Jake Greer, senior receiver Harrison Brewer, senior offensive lineman Brandon Tartavoulle, senior defensive lineman Lee Negrotto, senior linebacker Leo Roos and senior defensive back J.D. Rutherford.

Moss Point (3-10) had five first-team players: Senior offensive lineman Tevaun Weatherspoon, junior defensive lineman Wayne Sipp, junior defensive lineman Keandre Booker, senior defensive back Anthony Kirkland and senior lineman Matthew Sellers.

Vancleave (3-7) picked up four first-team selections: Senior running back Lane Wise, senior receiver Xavier Bass, senior offensive lineman Quinton Murphy and senior linebacker Tristan Glass.

Bay High (0-10) had two first-team players: Senior athlete Jaylan Wilson and senior linebacker John Russo.

Region 8-4A second-team selections are:

East Central: Alberta Autrey (OL), Austin Kitchens (OL) Camren Rouse (TE), Cade Miles (LB), Kody Humphrey (LB), Bryce Eubanks (DL), Kase Kelly (DL).

Moss Point: Terrance Gaines (OL), Devin Simpson (LB), Antwoine Bailey (OL), Isaac Gowdy (DB).

Vancleave: Jacob Miller (DL), Caleb Bicknell (OL), Austin Thomley (DL).

SSC: Lewie Negrotto (LB), Joe Reeder (DL), Alex Rimmer (OL), Cahill Marlowe (RB), Dallas Payne (WR).

Pass Christian: Dustin Allison (QB), Reese Gorman (LB), Elijah Barnes (WR), Gordon Ward (DL), Justin Kidd (OL), Tyson Scott (LB).

Bay High: Myles Veals (OL), Kyre Hodges Campello (OL/LB).

Patrick Magee: 228-896-2333, @Patrick_Magee