High School Sports

Four Coast schools land multiple players on Class 5A All-State Team

Stone running back Terrion Avery carries for a first down against Pascagoula during the first quarter of their game at A.L. May stadium in Perkinston on Sept. 30.
Stone running back Terrion Avery carries for a first down against Pascagoula during the first quarter of their game at A.L. May stadium in Perkinston on Sept. 30. jcfitzhugh@sunherald.com

South Mississippi is again well represented on this year's Class 5A All-State teams.

Pascagoula earned a pair of Class 5A First-Team All-State selections while both Gautier, Picayune and Stone High all placed three total on the first and second teams.

Senior offensive lineman James Jackson and senior linebacker Matt Inlow both earned first-team honors after leading Pascagoula to a 6-6 record and a playoff bid. Inlow finished as one of the Coast top tacklers with 155 this year. Jackson is committed to play football at Mississippi State, likely as a defensive tackle.

Senior offensive tackle Paul Gainer, a Mississippi State commit, was the lone Gautier representative on the first team. Senior running back DeAndre Torrey and senior offensive tackle Justin Scott both made the second team.

Torrey ran 157 times for 1,330 yards and 18 touchdowns. Scott stands 6-foot-3, 290 pounds and holds an offer from Alcorn State.

Stone High senior running back Terrion Avery also earned first-team honors following a breakout season. He rushed 290 times for 2,271 yards and 26 touchdowns this year.

Senior kicker Mason Hunt and senior safety R'Tarriun Johnson, both of Stone High, landed spots on the second team. Hunt accounted for 66 points this year and Johnson led the Tomcats with 131 tackles.

Picayune had one first-team selection in senior running back Josh Littles, who ran 289 times for 2,399 yards and 25 touchdowns.

Picayune senior Blake Merrifield, who played fullback and linebacker, made the second team as an athlete and Maroon Tide junior Shaun Anderson also landed on the second team as a kick return specialist.

Merrifield rushed for 664 yards and nine touchdowns and also had 43 tackles on defense. Anderson had 99 rushes for 1,096 yards and eight touchdowns at running back.

Class 5A All-State

First Team Offense

Wide receivers

Brandon Smith, Lake Cormorant

Dontario Drummond, Laurel

Raheem Moore, Vicksburg

Tight end

T.J. Stephens, New Hope

Offensive line

Sam Ingram, Germantown

Paul Gainer, Gautier

James Jackson, Pascagoula

Colton Skidmore, Oxford

Trace Clopton, Brookhaven

Running backs

Terrion Avery, Stone

Josh Littles, Picayune

Deon House, Grenada


Julian Conner, Hattiesburg

Place Kicker

Connor McKay, Germantown

Offensive Player of the Year

Marcus Murphy, West Point

Defensive Player of the Year

C.J. Avery, Grenada

Player of the Year

Jordan Murphy, Hattiesburg

Coach of the Year

Chris Chambless, West Point


La'Andre Thomas, Wingfield

Second Team Offense

Wide receivers

Dandre Humbles, Hattiesburg

Andre Erby, New Hope

Jevah Jones, Laurel

Tight End

Carl Jones, Germantown

Offensive Line

Tripp Taylor, Germantown

Justin Scott, Gautier

Treyvion Jackson, Clarksdale

Tae-kion Reed, New Hope

Quincy McGee, Hattiesburg

Running backs

DeAndre Torrey, Gautier

Fabian Franklin, Hattiesburg

Brian Jackson, Lake Cormorant


Tyquan Ulmer, Laurel

Place Kicker

Mason Hunt, Stone High


Blake Merrifield, Picayune

First Team Defense

Defensive line

Nathan Perry, Germantown

Everett Cunningham, West Point

Terrance Cherry, West Point

Darius Townsend, Laurel


J.J. Russell, Gernada

Matt Inlow, Pascagoula

Cordarrius Bailey, Clarksdale

Ladarrius Rule, Lake Cormorant

Defensive backs

Devin Rockette, Oxford

Christian Cain, Grenada

Esaias Furdge, Clarksdale

Chandler Phillips, Hattiesburg


Thomas Stevens, New Hope

Kick return specialist

Lydarrius Kirklin, Holmes County Central

Long snapper

Giles Lamar, Oxford

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line

Jeffery Johnson, Brookhaven

Quentin Bivens, Wayne County

Tylan Jones, Lake Cormorant

Anthony Keys, Lake Cormorant


Isiaha Triplett, Grenada

Quentin Wilfawn, Oxford

Keonta Hampton, West Point

Jordan Blackwell, Brookhaven

Defensive backs

D.Q. Thomas, Oxford

R'Tarriun Johnson, Stone

Tray Brownlee, West Point

Jamarcus Dorsey, Lake Cormorant


Brooks Italiano, Ridgeland

Kick Return Specialist

Shaun Anderson, Picayune

Long snapper

Harrison Savant, Germantown