High School Sports

Myles Brennan, Tony Brown highlight Class 4A All-State team

East Central's Tony Brown runs the ball against Pass Christian on Oct. 7.
East Central's Tony Brown runs the ball against Pass Christian on Oct. 7. amccoy@sunherald.com

St. Stanislaus senior quarterback Myles Brennan was awarded top honors on the recently released 2016 Class 4A All-State team.

Brennan, a LSU commit who recently “re-opened” his recruiting, is the Class 4A MVP following another outstanding season for the Rockachaws (10-2). He completed 69 percent of his passes for 3,982 yards, 48 touchdowns and three interceptions.

Brennan is one of 15 players from the state's southernmost six counties to make Class 4A All-State, which was voted on by the state's coaches.

East Central junior running back Tony Brown also picked up an individual honor as the Class 4A Offensive MVP following a breakout season for the Hornets (8-5). Brown led the state in rushing with 364 carries for 3,317 yards and 41 touchdowns.

Lafayette's Michael Fair was named the Class 4A Coach of the Year after winning the 4A state title over Poplarville, 27-12, on Saturday.

St. Stanislaus QB Myles Brennan talks about throwing eight TDs in 70-50 win over East Central to become Mississippi's career touchdown leader with 152.

There are four players from South Mississippi on the Class 4A All-State Offense First-Team: St. Stanislaus senior receiver Corbin Blanchard, St. Stanislaus senior tight end Chase Rogers, East Central senior offensive tackle Conner Estes and Poplarville senior fullback Jesse Pernell.

Blanchard caught 62 passes for 1,184 and 18 touchdowns and Rogers pulled in 61 passes for 1,042 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Pernell ran 189 times for 1,614 yards and 26 touchdowns for the Class 4A South State champion Hornets.

East Central junior running back Tony Brown is on pace for 3,000 yards rushing.

South Mississippi representatives on the Class 4A Second-Team Offense are: Poplarville senior offensive lineman Austin Arceneaux, Poplarville junior running back Austin Bolton and Pass Christian senior athlete V.J. Swanier.

Poplarville senior cornerback Aritaeus Johnson was the lone Coast player on the Class 4A All-State First-Team Defense. He had nine interceptions this year.

There are six players from South Mississippi on the All-State Second-Team Defense: Poplarville senior defensive end Ja'Merrick Waller, Poplarville senior defensive tackle Chad Hart, Moss Point senior linebacker Rayshon Marcel, St. Stanislaus senior cornerback Brendan Logan, East Central senior safety Andrew Seward and St. Stanislaus senior safety Gaige Prudhomme.

Hornets defeat Florence Eagles to advance to championship game.

Class 4A All-State Team

Class 4A MVP

QB Myles Brennan, St. Stanislaus

Coach Of the Year

Michael Fair, Lafayette

Class 4A All-State Offense First Team

Offensive MVP

RB Tony Brown, East Central

Wide Receivers

Jamal Thomas, Caledonia

Corbin Blanchard, St. Stanislaus

Tight End

Chase Rogers, St. Stanislaus

Offensive Line

Cole Freeman,W. Lauderdale

Antonio Roby, Noxubee County

Matt Toles, Lafayette

Conner Estes, East Central

Cole Smith, Pontotoc

Running Back

Jessie Pernell, Poplarville

Jamarcus Quarles, Lafayette

Gabe Harmon, Pontotoc


Jacob Carter, Pontotoc

Place Kicker

Malachi Harrison, Northeast Jones


Venchenze McCray, McComb

— — —

Class 4A Second Team All-State Offense

Wide Receiver

Gerkithis McCray, McComb

Donnis Jackson, Sumrall

Tight End

Marcus Atterbury, Lawrence County

Offensive Line

Austin Arceneaux, Poplarville

Lief Baranon, Cleveland

Kwatravious Johnson, Greenwood

Hogan Nelson, Purvis

Manly Peterson, Kosciusko

Running Back

Austin Bolton, Poplarville

Degerrick Lee, Florence


Will Ard, Lafayette

Place kicker

Hunter Norwood, Cleveland


V.J. Swanier, Pass Christian

— — —

Class 4A All-State First Team Defense

Defensive MVP

Tyler Carmichael-Williams, Lafayette

Defensive Ends

Johnta Walker, Houston

Montavious Thomas, Cleveland

Defensive Tackles

Jason Newbaker, W. Lauderdale

Charles Moore, Louisville

Inside Linebackers

Bryan Dace, Quitman

Kalmorris Robinson, Noxubee County

Outside Linebackers

Jamal Shumpert, Itawamba

McKinley Windham, Pontotoc

Strong Safety

Brandon Hale, Pontotoc


Jalon Davis, Florence

Artaeus Johnson, Poplarville

Free Safety

Edwin Whitlock, Mendenhall


Payton Snyder, New Albany

Kick Return Specialist

Kobe Chamber, Greenwood

Long Snapper

Tanner Rainer, W. Lauderdale

— — —

Class 4A All State Second Team Defense

Defensive Ends

Cory Williams, Lafayette

Ja'Merrick Waller, Poplarville

Defensive Tackles

Jalen Bell, Greenwood

Chad Hart, Poplarville

Inside Linebackers

Michael Washington, W. Lauderdale

Rayshon Marcel, Moss Point

Outside Linebackers

Jalen Holland, Amory

Lajordan Anderson, Louisville


Kyron Norwood, FCAHS

Brendan Logan, SSC

Strong Safety

Andrew Seward, East Central

Free Safety

Gaige Prudhomme, St. Stanislaus


Landon Jordan, Pontotoc

Kick Return Specialist

Maurice Toney, Sentatobia

Long Snapper

Luke Harper, Northeast Lauderdale