Southern Miss

Southern Miss leads C-USA with 5 first-team selections

Twitter: @Patrick_Magee

 Southern Miss first baseman Tim Lynch catches the ball against Rice, Saturday, Apr. 23, 2016.
TIM ISBELL/SUN HERALD Southern Miss first baseman Tim Lynch catches the ball against Rice, Saturday, Apr. 23, 2016.

Southern Miss baseball led the Conference USA with five Golden Eagles making first team all-conference on Tuesday.

Senior first baseman Tim Lynch, junior catcher Chuckie Robinson, junior outfielder Dylan Burdeaux, senior outfielder Jake Sandlin and sophomore starting pitcher Kirk McCarty all earned first-team honors from USM.

Senior right-hander Cord Cockrell, who is 7-1 with a 3.39 ERA in 13 starts, was the lone Golden Eagle on the second team.

Closer Nick Sandlin and designated hitter Hunter Slater were both named to the All-Freshman Team. Slater is batting .328 with four homers and 20 RBIs this season. Nick Sandlin is 3-3 with a 2.13 ERA and a team-leading 10 saves in 22 appearances.

Lynch has been USM's most consistent bat this season, hitting .367 with nine homers and 53 RBIs.

Jake Sandlin, a first-year transfer from Div. II Georgia College, has been outstanding in the field and at the plate. He is batting .354 with four homers and 33 RBIs.

Robinson has been one of the league's best defensive catchers and he is batting .288 with five homers and 38 RBIs.

Burdeaux, USM's leadoff batter, is hitting .345 with 11 homers and 38 RBIs and 52 runs scored.

McCarty was outstanding in conference competition this season and the left-hander is 6-1 with a 3.27 ERA with 82 strikeouts in 77 innings.

FAU junior shortstop C.J. Chatham was named the C-USA Player of the Year and Rice right-hander Jon Duplantier Jr. was named the Pitcher of the year. Rice shortstop Ford Proctor earned Freshman of the Year and Marshall junior first baseman Tommy Lane is the Newcomer of the Year.

Marshall head coach Jeff Waggoner was named the Keith LeClair Coach of the Year.

Southern Miss will play Old Dominion at 4 p.m. on Wednesday in the first round of the Conference USA Tournament in Hattiesburg.


IF CJ Chatham, Jr., Florida Atlantic

IF Danny Hudzina, Sr., WKU

IF Tommy Lane, Jr., Marshall

IF Tim Lynch, Sr., Southern Miss

OF Dylan Burdeaux, Jr., Southern Miss

OF Jake Sandlin, Sr., Southern Miss

OF DJ Gee, Sr., Marshall

C Chuckie Robinson, Jr., Southern Miss

DH/UT Kaleb Duckworth, So., WKU

SP Chase Boster, Sr., Marshall

SP Jon Duplantier, Jr., Rice

SP Kirk McCarty, Sr., Southern Miss

SP Casey Sutton, Jr., Louisiana Tech

RP Glenn Otto, So., Rice


IF Riley Delgado, Jr., Middle Tennessee

IF Brett Netzer, So., Charlotte

IF Logan Sherer, Jr., Charlotte

IF Ford Proctor, Fr., Rice

OF Corey Bird, Jr., Marshall

OF Connor Myers, Sr., Old Dominion

OF T.J. Nichting, Jr., Charlotte

C Zack Soria, Jr., FIU

DH/UT Jonathan Washam, Jr., Louisiana Tech

SP Cord Cockrell, Sr., Southern Miss

SP Brandon Rhodes, Sr., Florida Atlantic

SP Ricardo Salinas, So., Rice

SP Sam Sinnen, Jr., Old Dominion

SP Marc Stewart, So., Florida Atlantic

RP Cameron Ragsdale, Jr., Florida Atlantic


IF Bryan Arias, UTSA

SS Ford Proctor, Rice

C Tyler Frank, Florida Atlantic

OF Blake Benefield, Middle Tennessee

OF Reece Hampton, Charlotte

OF Brewer Hicklen, UAB

DH Dominic DiCaprio, Rice

DH Hunter Slater, Southern Miss

LHP Nick Swan, Florida Atlantic

LHP Joshua Shapiro, Marshall

RHP Nick Sandlin, Southern Miss