Breaking News Alerts

11 Mississippi counties declared federal disaster areas

JACKSON – Gov. Haley Barbour today announced 11 counties along the Mississippi River have been declared federal disaster areas in anticipation of major flooding.

The counties declared include Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Desoto, Issaquena, Jefferson, Tunica, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson. Other counties will be added as appropriate.

“This will be a monumental flood, and I ask residents to take this risk seriously and make evacuation plans,” Barbour said. “I appreciate the quick review by President Obama and FEMA leaders, and I know they will give similar consideration to our request to add counties impacted by backwater flooding.”

Read more about this story in Friday's Sun Herald.