State Politics

Fewer South Mississippi senators lead committees

South Mississippi saw a net loss of chairmanships and vice chairmanships in the state Senate, compared to those serving last term.

But given the high turnover of the region's delegation from the 2011 elections, the area fared pretty well as Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves doled out assignments on Friday.

The delegation from last term held eight chairmanships and seven vice chairmanships. For the new term, it holds five chairmanships and six vice chairmanships.

The area's 10-member Senate delegation includes five freshmen.

Here are the South Mississippi senators named to chairmanships or vice chairmanships on Friday:

Billy Hudson, R-Hattiesburg: chairman, Agriculture; vice chair, County Affairs

Michael Watson, R-Pascagoula: chairman, Constitution; vice chair, Drug Policy

Tommy Gollot, R-Biloxi: chairman, Environmental Protection Conservation and Water Resources

Deborah Dawkins, D-Pass Christian: chairman, State Library; vice chair, Environmental Protection Conservation and Water Resources

Brice Wiggins, R-Pascagoula: chairman, Ports and Marine Resources

Sean Tindell, R-Gulfport: vice chairman, Tourism

Philip Moran, R-Kiln: vice chairman, Veterans and Military Affairs

Angela Burkes Hill, R-Picayune: vice chairman, Wildlife Fisheries and Parks