Six Mississippi Coast senators will lead legislative committees


State Sen. Brice Wiggins
State Sen. Brice Wiggins

 Six Coast Senators will lead committees in the legislative session that began earlier this month.

“The Gulf Coast is vitally important to Mississippi’s economy, and I believe the region’s senators should have a major role in shaping that economic growth,” Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves said in a release announcing the assignments..

The five new chairmen are Republicans. The lone chairwoman is also the lone Democrat.

The assignments are:

Sen. Tommy Gollott: Chairman of the Ports and Marine Resources Committee, which handles port issues and the Department of Marine Resources. Gollott, R-Biloxi, represents District 50 in Harrison County.

Sen. Philip Moran: Chairman of the Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Committee, which covers issues related to hunting, fishing and management of the state’s resources. Moran, R-Kiln, represents District 46, which includes Hancock and Harrison counties.

Sen. Sean Tindell: Chairman of the Judiciary A Committee, which handles issues related to civil and contract law. Tindell, R-Gulfport, represents District 49 in Harrison County.

Sen. Michael Watson: Chairman of the Environmental Protection, Conservation and Water Resources Committee, which often manages issues related to protecting the state’s natural resources. Watson, R-Pascagoula, represents District 51 in Jackson County.

Sen. Brice Wiggins: Chairman of the newly created Medicaid Committee, which will address matters related to the federal-state health insurance program that covers about a quarter of Mississippians. Wiggins, R-Pascagoula, represents District 52 in Jackson County.

Sen. Debbie Dawkins: Chairwoman of the Libraries Committee, which reviews state library matters. Dawkins, D-Harrison, represents District 48 in Harrison County.