Answer to Political Buzz question

Who is the longest serving member in the history of the Mississippi Legislature, and what current South Mississippi lawmaker is the second-longest serving?

Answer: Speaker of the House Walter Sillers Jr. of Rosedale, who was elected in 1915 and served 50 years is the longest serving official in Mississippi legislative history and Sen. Tommy Gollott, R-Biloxi, who has been in the legislature for 44 years, trails only Sillers in length of tenure