Jackson County

Moran wins recount (Updated 4 p.m.)

Ocean Springs Mayor Connie Moran was affirmed as mayor today in a recount of the votes cast in Tuesday's general election.

Moran garnered 2,509 votes to Scott Walker's 2,413, which includes absentee, affadavit and actual ballots. The margin of victory is 96 votes

The Election Commission released an affadavit certifying the election, which included Moran as the winner of the mayor's race.

Moran and Republican candidate Scott Walker vied for the office of mayor and after losing the race by 97 votes, Walker asked for a recount, which was held at 3 p.m. today.

Read more about this story in Friday's Sun Herald.