State Politics

January 20, 2012 10:53 AM

SM lawmakers get powerful committee posts

New House Speaker Philip Gunn on Friday named eight South Mississippi lawmakers as chairmen of committees. Gunn said he tried to be fair in terms of capability, seniority, regionalism and political party in naming legislative leaders for the next four years. Republicans now, for the first time in modern history, control the House leadership, but Gunn named 10 Democrats as chairmen of the 45 he named Friday.

Related content

Suggested for you



Editor's Choice Videos