South Mississippi winners of Miss Mississippi

July 9, 2014 

Coast winners of Miss Mississippi

In the 1920s, Miss America contestants were not required to win state pageants, as not every state had a pageant. Several winners of Miss Biloxi competed.

1924: Miss Biloxi Vivian Ruth Shaddinger

1925: Miss Biloxi Laurice McFarland

1926: Miss Biloxi Mabel Riley

1927: Miss Biloxi Phyllis Hunt

1949: Katherine Wright, Pascagoula, first runner-up for Miss America

1953: Susan Dugger, Picayune, fourth runner-up for Miss America

1955: Carolyn Cochran, Lucedale

1973: Kathleen Coole, Gulfport

1974: Diane Bounds, Gulfport

1980: Donna Pope, McNeil, tied for second runner-up for Miss America

1987: Toni Seawright, Moss Point, fourth runner-up for Miss America

2008: Christine Kozlowski, D'Iberville

2012: Marie Wicks, Ocean Springs

The Sun Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service