Hancock County Chamber names Outstanding Citizens

SUN HERALDJuly 8, 2014 

Ten Outstanding Citizens will be honored during the annual Hancock County Chamber's awards gala Aug. 21 and one will be named Citizen of the Year.

The gala will be at 5:30 p.m. in the Cypress Ballroom at Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis.

The honorees announced Tuesday:

n Jane Alford, Bay-tique and Carroll House Bed & Breakfast

n Debbie Benefield, Mississippi Power Co.

n Dr. William "Bill" Bradford, retired emergency medicine physician

n Jim Grotkowski, True Value Hardware

n Cherie Antoinette Labat, Bay-Waveland School District and Mind, Body & Spirit

n Kerryn Liebkemann, Friends of McLeod Park and Kiln Business Council

n M. Carolyn Rhodes, Gaits to Success

n Rhonda Dean Rhodes, Hancock Resource Center

n LiLi Stahler Murphy, city of Waveland and Ground Zero Hurricane Museum

n Linda Tucker, Hancock Medical Center

Businesses of the year:

n For Bay St. Louis -- Bay Town Inn

n For Diamondhead -- Park Ten Lanes

n For the Hancock County Board of Supervisors -- Dempsey's Seafood and Steak Restaurant

n For Kiln Business Council -- Coastal Hydraulics and Supply

n For Waveland -- Treasures of the Bay

This year's Patt Cucullu Tourism Persons of the Year are Kerrie and Jesse Loya of 100 Men D.B.A. Hall.

SpaceX will receive the Industrial Award of Excellence, Calgon Carbon Corp. is this year's Industry of the Year and the Bay St. Louis Municipal Harbor was chosen to receive the Community Award of Excellence.

"These companies and persons exemplify business leadership, good citizenship and have helped create a domino effect of investment in Hancock County," said Tish Williams, executive director of the Hancock Chamber.

Reservations for the gala can be made at the chamber website or by calling 467-9048.

The Sun Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service