Ole Miss' Wallace, MSU's Prescott make Maxwell watch list


Ole Miss quarterback Bo Wallace and Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott were named to the Maxwell Award watch list on Monday.

MSU linebacker Benardrick McKinney and Ole Miss' Cody Prewitt were named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list.

Wallace, entering his third season as the Rebels' starting quarterback, makes the Maxwell Award watch list for the second straight year. The Pulaski, Tenn., native has also been named preseason All-SEC by Phil Steele, Athlon and Lindy's. He enters his senior year ranked second in school history in total offense (7,085 yards) and passing (6,340 yards) and first in passing efficiency (140.2) and completion percentage (64.3).

Prescott threw for 1,940 yards and 10 touchdowns while rushing for 829 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Former Rebel Eli Manning won the Maxwell Award in 2003.

McKinney made 71 tackles last season, including 42 solos.

Prewitt earned first team All-America honors as a free safety last year when he led the SEC and ranked among the nation's leaders with six interceptions. The Bay Springs, Miss., native has been tabbed by most of the preseason magazines to repeat as an All-American in 2014. He was also a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award, which goes to the nation's top defensive back.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston of Florida State, a finalist last year, is again on the Maxwell watch list. Among the other players up for the Maxwell are Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall and Auburn wide receiver Sammie Coates as well as four players from Alabama -- quarterback Jacob Coker, wide receiver Amari Cooper, running back Derrick Henry and running back T.J. Yeldon.

The Sun Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service