Mock election results from Hosemann

Posted on November 4, 2011 

From Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann's Office:

The Secretary of State’s Office announced the results of the 2011 Mock Election at the Old Capitol Museum in Jackson.

“Students who participate in the Mock Election, in the past, have come extremely close to gauging the actual election results,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. “The Mock Election enables students to get hands on experience in participating in the voting process. Once they vote, we believe they will continue to be an active member of the electorate.”

This year, 275 Mississippi public, private and parochial schools participated in the Promote the Vote (PTV) program, a Kindergarten through Grade 12 education program designed to teach the fundamentals of our democracy and encourage civic responsibility. The program helps students improve their political decision-making abilities and increase their interest in current issues. PTV includes a statewide mock election, student competitions, a complete voter education curriculum and special events to recognize students and their teachers.

In the PTV Mock Election, students cast ballots for the top eight statewide offices, in addition to voting on the voter identification initiative.

The results, as of Friday, November 04, 2011, are as follows:


Phil Bryant 62.03% Johnny Dupree 37.97%


Tate Reeves: 66.64% Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill 33.36%


Delbert Hosemann 100.0% ATTORNEY GENERAL

Steve Simpson 51.22% Jim Hood 48.78%


Stacey Pickering 54.54% Ashley Underwood 45.46% STATE TREASURER

Lynn Fitch 47.22% Connie Moran 35.41% Shawn O’Hara 17.37%



Cindy Hyde-Smith 50.51% Joel Gill 33.25% Cathy Toole 16.24%


Mike Chaney 52.35% Louis Fondren 28.94% Barbara Dale Washer 18.71%


Yes 70.40% No 29.60%

The Sun Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service